Green Message

Home > Bharatavarsha > Pilgrimages by Deities > Pilgrimages of Shiva > Pancha Bhoota Sthalams

Pancha Bhoota Sthalams

Pancha Bhoota Sthalams:

Shiva Lingam The Pancha Bhoota Sthalams are five sacred temples of Shiva, each representing a prime element of Nature. They are:

1. Earth element: Ekambareswara Temple at Kanchipuram representing the Prithivi Lingam.

2. Water element: Jambukeswara Temple at Thiruvanaikaval representing the Apas Lingam.

3. Fire element: Arunachaleswara Temple at Thiruvannamalai representing the Agni (Taijasha) Lingam.

4. Air element: Sri Kalahasteeswara Temple at Sri Kalahasti representing the Vayu Lingam.

5. Space (or Sky) element: Nataraja Temple at Chidambaram representing the Akasha Lingam.

go to top

go to top

go to top

go to top

Srikalahasteeswarar - Srikalahasti:

Srikalahasti Srikalahasti Srikalahasti Temple
  • Srikalahasteeswarar (Srikalahasti): One of the Pancha Bhoota Sthalas of Shiva located in Srikalahasti.

    - Pancha Bhoota Sthalam - Vayu or Wind element: This Pancha Bhoota Sthalam represents the Vayu or Wind element.

    - Worship of Lord Shiva originally by Vayu: According to legend, the Linga was originally worshipped by Vayu in Maha Kailasha on the peak of Sivanandaikanilaya. The Linga was thereafter worshipped by many devas and sages in different yugas. In Tretayuga the Linga was worshipped by a Spider (Sri), a Serpent (Kala) and an Elephant (Hasti).

    - Worship of Lord Shiva by Spider (Sri): The Spider (Sri) worshipped the Shiva Linga by decorating its vicinity with cobwebs spinning in the shape of chariots, mandapas, towers, thrones etc. Lord Shiva tested his devotion by reducing all his creations to ashes. The spider in great dissapointment ended his life by entering into the flame of a lamp. Lord Shiva gave him darshan and he finally merged with the Vayu Lingam.

    - Worship of Lord Shiva by Serpent (Kala) and Elephant (Hasti): In a separate period, the Serpent (Kala) and Elephant (Hasti) also worshipped the Shiva Linga. The serpent used to worship the Shiva Linga every morning with precious stones. The elephant used to worship the Linga at noon time with tender leaves and fragrant flowers. The serpent removed the flower offerings of the Lord thinking that the thorns will cause pain to the Lord. Similarly the elephant removed the offerings of precious stones thinking that they were heavy burden on the idol. A conflict ensued between them in which both of them died. Lord Shiva gave darshan to them and they finally merged with the Vayu Linga. The Lord named the kshetra as Srikalahasteeswara associating the name with Sri (spider devotee), Kala (serpent devotee) and Hasti (elephant devotee).

    Srikalahasti is located in the Chittoor district of Andhra Pradesh.
    - Srikalahasti from Srikalahasteeswara Sthala Purana
    - Dakshinamurthy Stotram (Adi Shankara)
    - Dwadasa Jyotirlingani
    - Kalabhairava Ashtakam (Adi Shankara)
    - Kara Carana Kritam
    - Karpura Gauram Karunavataram
    - Lingashtakam
    - Maha Mrityunjaya Mantra (Rig Veda 7.59.12)
    - Rudrashtakam (Goswami Tulsidas)
    - Shambhu Stuti
    - Shiva Manasa Puja (Adi Shankara)
    - Shiva Panchakshara Stotram (Adi Shankara)
    - Shiva Pratah Smaran Stotram (Adi Shankara)
    - Shiva Shadakshara Stotram (Rudra Yamala)
    - Shiva Tandava Stotram (Ravana)
    - Shivashtakam (Adi Shankara)
    - Vishwanathashtakam (Adi Shankara)
    - Om Namah Shivaya Japa
    - Mahamrityunjaya Mantra Japa
    - Shiva Gayatri Mantra

  • go to top

    go to top

    Bharatavarsha - The Land of Gods and Sages:

    1. Stotras by Deity:
    Initial: Ganesha - Hanuman - Gurudeva - Gayatri
    Tridevas: Brahma - (Vishnu - Narasimha - Rama - Krishna) - Shiva
    Tridevis: Saraswati - (Lakshmi - Tulasi - Bhoomi) - Parvati
    Others: Murugan - Surya - Ganga - Yamuna - Narmada - Others
    Final: Vedas - Brahman

    2. Pilgrimages by Deity:
    Initial: Ganesha
    Tridevas: Brahma - (Vishnu - Narasimha - Rama - Krishna) - Shiva
    Tridevis: Saraswati - Lakshmi - (Parvati - Shakambari)
    Others: Murugan - Ganga

    3. Sadhana: Sadhana - Hermitages - Penances

    4. Saints: Ramakrishna - Vivekananda - Ramana - Saints

    5. Sacred Geography: Forests - Mountains - Rivers - Lakes

    6. Puranas: Scriptures

    7. Religious Life: Stotras - Puja - Pilgrimages - Festivals - Varnashramas - Samskaras - Traditions

    8. Other Aspects: Sanskrit - Arts - Music - Dance - Medicine - Architecture - Astronomy

    Green Corner: >>

    Om, May there be Peace in Heaven,
    May there be Peace in the Sky,
    May there be Peace in the Earth,
    May there be Peace in the Water,
    May there be Peace in the Plants,
    May there be Peace in the Trees,
    May there be Peace in the Gods in the various Worlds,
    May there be Peace in Brahman,
    May there be Peace in All,
    May there be Peace Indeed within Peace,
    Giving Me the Peace which Grows within Me,
    Om, Peace, Peace, Peace.

    (Shanti Mantra of Upanishad)

    Preserve Nature,
    And Nature will preserve Us,
    Simplify Life,
    And make the Nature thrive,
    Plant Trees,
    And make our planet Green.

    Next >>

    Green Message: The Evergreen Messages of Spirituality, Sanskrit and Nature

    Last updated on Oct-2017

    Disclaimer     Contact     Updates