Green Message
Home > Nature > Vedic Vision > Vedic Vision of Nature

Vedic Vision of Nature

The Vedic Vision of Nature combines Nature with Sadhana. The entire Nature is the deity. The Vedic Vision of Nature has the following characteristics:

1. The entire universe is divided into three divisions:
- Dyau: The Heaven (Celestial region)
- Antariksha: The Intermediate Space between the Earth and the Heaven (Atmospheric region)
- Prithivi: The Earth (Terrestrial region)

2. There are divine forces (devas) present in Nature. These divine forces control different aspects of Nature. These divine forces also affect our subtle bodies. The devas often take the form of a visible element of Nature.

3. There is a Supreme Being behind everything. This Cosmic Being is termed as Purusha in Purusha Sukta of Rig Veda (RV 10.90), Devi or Vak in the Devi or Vak Sukta of Rig Veda (RV 10.125) etc.

4. Human beings invoke the devas through yagna (sacrifice). In the yagna a sacrificial fire is lit and Soma juice is prepared. Oblations are poured in the sacrificial fire accompanied by chanting of the Vedic mantras to invoke the devas in the yagna. The devas are (often) invited to partake the Soma juice. The Vedic mantras glorify the devas and asks for various boons. The boons relate to both material life as well as spiritual development.

5. Various interpretations are given regarding the devas and the process of yagna. This is interpreted from spiritual perspective as the spiritual ascent of man from the gross towards the divine (symbolically from terrestrial region to celestial region). The external yagna corresponds to an inner yagna which brings out the divine in man.

This article uses the Vedic symbolism to integrate devotional worship and inner transformation of man with the concepts of Vedic yagna and devas.

Vedic Vision of Nature:
  1. Introduction
  2. Meditation on Dyauh Shanti Mantra
  3. Meditation on Ambhasyapare Mantra
  4. Meditation on Satyam-Brhad-Rtam Mantra
  5. Meditation on Yaa-Arnnave-Adhi Mantra
- Author: greenmesg

Bharatavarsha - The Land of Gods and Sages:

1. Stotras: Stotras

Ganesha - Hanuman - Gurudeva - Gayatri

1. Brahma
2. Vishnu - Narasimha - Rama - Krishna
3. Shiva

1. Saraswati
2. Lakshmi - Tulasi - Bhoomi
3. Parvati: Durga - (Dasa Mahavidyas: Kali - Tara - Tripurasundari - Bhuvaneswari - Tripurabhairavi - Chinnamasta - Dhumavati - Bagalamukhi - Matangi - Kamalatmika) - Annapoorna - Kamakshi - Meenakshi - Shakambari

Murugan - Surya - Ganga - Yamuna - Narmada - Others

Vedas - Brahman

2. Pilgrimages: Pilgrimages

3. Festivals: Festivals

4. Scriptures: Scriptures

5. Saints: Ramakrishna - Vivekananda - Ramana - Saints

6. Sadhana: Sadhana

7. Sanskrit: Sanskrit

8. Nature: Nature

Understanding the Earth - The Vedic way: >>

Om, May there be Peace in Heaven,
May there be Peace in the Sky,
May there be Peace in the Earth,
May there be Peace in the Water,
May there be Peace in the Plants,
May there be Peace in the Trees,
May there be Peace in the Gods in the various Worlds,
May there be Peace in Brahman,
May there be Peace in All,
May there be Peace Indeed within Peace,
Giving Me the Peace which Grows within Me,
Om, Peace, Peace, Peace.

(Shanti Mantra of Upanishad)

Preserve Nature,
And Nature will preserve Us,
Simplify Life,
And help Nature thrive,
Plant Trees,
And make our planet Green.

Next >>

Green Message: The Evergreen Messages of Spirituality, Sanskrit and Nature

Last updated on Aug-2018

Site Map    Search    Contact    Updates