Green Message
Home > Nature > Vedic Vision > Yagna Cycle

Yagna Cycle

Now we embark upon the journey through the Vedic mantras. For this, the background setting is the Vedic Yagna which is conceptually represented in the form of a Yagna Cycle.

Fig 1: The Yagna Cycle

Parts of the Yagna Cycle:

Agni: Agni in the form of the Sacrificial Fire is lighted in the Yagna. Agni represents the inner drive as well as burning of the gross to attain inner purity. We invoke the Agni first. Agni acting like a priest then invokes the other Devas in the Yagna.

Soma: Soma juice is offered to the Devas during the Yagna. Soma represents the inner devotion as well as the bliss arising out of purity. When the Devas are invoked, they come to the Yagna to drink the Soma juice.

- Agni is like the heating Sun. Soma is like the cooling Moon. Both alternate in the Yagna Cycle like the day and the night. If the Self-Effort of the day is properly channelized, the corresponding Grace is deposited in the silence of the night, which we will feel internally.

- Self-effort is mostly individual but the Grace is mostly collective. Like planting a tree. A tree is planted through individual self-effort, but the good results spread to the collective.

Devas: The Devas are the divine forces whom we pray during the Yagna. The Devas come down and drink the Soma juice. Then they awaken us as well as awaken the external environment. This is their Grace.

- The first half of the Yagna Cycle represents individual Self-Effort. The second half of the Yagna Cycle represents collective Grace. The second half of the cycle may not immediately follow the first half of the cycle, because it takes time for the collective Grace to dawn. When many individual self-efforts accumulate, then the collective grace dawns at the proper time.

Rita: The entire Yagna is taking place around Rita or Cosmic Order. Rita is vast in scale. Meditation on Rita internally expands us. The self-effort of the day needs to be channelized towards Rita. We overcome our limited egoistic barrier through this internally. Then the Devas are invoked who are the upholder of Rita.

- The entire Yagna cycle represents our participation in upholding Rita or Cosmic Order. By performing the Yagna, we get awakened by the divine powers and thereafter perform our works for Rita (in contrast to performing work only for self-interest). The Yagna Cycle is like our coordination with the Devas. We invoking the Devas and get awakened by them. Then we become their helpers and uphold the Rita along with them.

- According to the philosophy of the Vedic Vision of Nature, understanding this Yagna Cycle is part of our Education. Awakening the Devas and spreading their spiritual vibrations is part of Environment. And performing work for upholding Rita is part of Economy. Obviously adopting this philosophy can only be gradual and limited in scale.

Stages of the Yagna Cycle:

• The different stages of the Yagna are as follows:

1. Invoking Agni: Agni is invoked first in the Yagna through the relevant Vedic mantras. Internally we should feel the inner drive and the purification taking place due to the burning of the gross.

2. Agni invoking the Devas: Agni is the Purohita or Priest who invokes the other Devas in the Yagna.

3. We invoking the Devas: Subsequently we also invoke the Devas through the relevant Vedic mantras. (This may also include Agni, but now not in the role of Purohita). Internally we should feel the inner expansion taking place because we are connecting to the universal forces.

4. Devas coming to drink Soma: Invoked by Agni and us, the Devas come to drink Soma. Internally we should feel an inner bliss (as if our inner offering has been accepted).

5(a). Devas awakening us: After drinking the Soma, the Devas awaken us internally. Internally we should feel the qualities associated with the Devas.

5(b). Devas awakening the environment: The Devas also spiritually charge the external Nature. This is because the Devas operate from a plane where the internal and external Nature are connected.

6. Our Work: Once we are awakened by the Yagna, the work we do is a service for the Rita. The work is for upholding and enhancing Rita or Cosmic Order. According to the proposition of the Vedic Vision of Nature, the Economy needs to be designed by the work at this stage. Then the external dimensions of Education, Environment and Economy will all be aligned together. Externally the work can be a simple work like a farmer sowing his seeds, but now he is doing in an awakened state knowing that he is participating in Rita.

7. Work of the Devas: In this stage the Devas are giving the results of the Yagna. It may be a rainfall for the farmer. Stages 6 and 7 may overlap, but normally the work of Rita happens on a larger timescale. We may think that even without any Yagna, the rainfall will happen. So what is the need of the Yagna? The work of the Devas is the result of the collective Yagnas (in essence and may not be as ritual). So even if we are not doing any Yagna, someone else is doing that. Even if it is not in this earth, then in some other Lokas. So Yagna is always going on. If more and more people align themselves to Yagna, then Rita will be enhanced. This will be felt as inner joy as well as external abundance of Nature.

• The scope of the Yagna is very vast encompassing the entire Dyava-Prithivi (Earth, Space and Heaven). So internally we should try to expand ourselves towards the Sky overcoming the barrier imposed by the ego. This will gradually help us severe the knot of the heart and make us feel an expansive inner freedom. We should strive to perform the daily duties of life with the sense of the inner freedom attained.

Later we will discuss more on the Yagna Cycle in the context of the Vedic mantras.

Vedic Vision of Nature:

  1. Introduction:
    • Summary
    • Relevance
    • The three outer Dimensions (Education, Environment and Economy)
    • The three inner Dimensions (Vedic Vision as Heart, Science as Head and Technology as Hand)
    • The Goal (Unifying the outer Dimensions with the help of the inner Dimensions)

  2. Core Concepts:
    1. Rishis (Seers of Vedic Mantras)
    2. Rita (Cosmic Order)
    3. Devas (Divine forces upholding Rita)
    4. Yagna (Our participation in Rita)

  3. Unification: Aligning Vedic Vision with the three outer Dimensions:
    • Education (Bringing inner illumination through the study of Vedic mantras)
    • Environment (Seeing Environment from the perspective of Rita)
    • Economy (Designing Economy from the perspective of Yagna)

  4. Yagna Cycle: Journey through the Vedic mantras through the Yagna Cycle

  5. Vedic mantras [Education]: Bringing inner illumination through the study of Vedic mantras
    1. Rig Veda - Mandala 1

  6. Rita [Environment]: Seeing Environment from the perspective of Rita

  7. Yagna [Economy]: Designing Economy from the perspective of Yagna

- Author: greenmesg

Bharatavarsha - The Land of Gods and Sages:

1. Stotras
2. Scriptures
3. Pilgrimages
4. Festivals
5. Saints: Ramakrishna - Vivekananda - Ramana
6. Sadhana
7. Sanskrit
8. Nature

Meditation on Earth and Life: >>

Om, May there be Peace in Heaven,
May there be Peace in the Sky,
May there be Peace in the Earth,

(Shanti Mantra of Upanishad)

Preserve Nature,
And Nature will preserve Us,
Simplify Life,
And help Nature thrive,
Plant Trees,
And make our planet Green.

Next >>

Green Message: The Evergreen Messages of Spirituality, Sanskrit and Nature

Last updated on Sep-2021

Site Map    Search    Contact    Updates